RI Elementary School Principal of the Year

Each year RIASP selects a Rhode Island Elementary School Principal of the Year. This principal is acknowledged by his/her peers for the exemplary contributions he/she has made to the profession.  The program honors school principals who place student learning at the center, set high expectations for student development, oversee standards based teaching and learning, utilize data in making decisions, and engage the community in the shared responsibility for student achievement.

The RIASP Elementary Principal of the Year recognition program is run in conjunction with the National Distinguished Principal Program (NDP) which is sponsored by the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) in corporate sponsorship with VALIC.

Anyone may nominate an eligible principal – a superintendent, a principal, a teacher, a parent, a student.

Elementary Principal of the Year

2009 - Nancy Nettik - West Kingston Elementary School

2010 - Christopher Kennedy - Nayatt Elementary School

2011 - Debra Zepp - Matunuck Elementary School

2012 - Susan Chin - Veazie Street School

2013 - Nidia Karbonik - Ashton Elementary School

2014 - Edward Ferrario - Stony Lane Elementary School

2015 - Louise Seitsinger - Tiogue Elementary School 

2016 - Denise Missry - Asa Messer Elementary School 

2017- Donna Coderre - Leo Savoie Elementary School 

2018 - Jennifer Poore - Charlestown Elementary School 

2019 - Patricia Cousineau - Warwick Neck Elementary School 

2020 - Courtney Monterecy - Mary Fogarty Elementary School

2021 - Suzette Wordell - Pocasset Elementary School

2022 - James Callahan - Sowams Elementary School

2023 Elementary Principal of the Year 

Dr. Sabrina Antonelli

Norwood Elementary School Warwick